The Bethel Mennonite Church (General Conference Mennonite Church), located near Dolton in Turner County, South Dakota, with a membership of approximately 80, was a member of the Northern District Conference. The first building was dedicated and the congregation organized in December 1892. The present meetinghouse, built in 1920, seated 500. The architectural design was unique, with a wrap-around balcony and ornate stamped metal sheets with relief designs on the walls and ceiling.
The congregation first had a pastor of its own in 1917, when J. A. Thieszen was appointed. He resigned on 1 January 1950; after that time the congregation was served by Glenn Epp, Joe Hoffer, H. J. Brown, and Harold Thiessen, who was called on 1 July 1953. One missionary and two pastors went out from the congregation to serve in other fields.
The congregation closed, and the Bethel building was moved to the Freeman Museum, in Freeman, South Dakota, in 1992.
Freeman Museum & Archives. "Freeman Museum: Bethel Mennonite Church Building." http://www.freemanmuseum.org/buildings/bethel.html [Broken link] (accessed 30 December 2006)
|Author(s)||J. A. Thieszen|
Cite This Article
Thieszen, J. A. and Sam Steiner. "Bethel Mennonite Church (Dolton, South Dakota, USA)." Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. 2006. Web. 9 Feb 2016. http://gameo.org/index.php?title=Bethel_Mennonite_Church_(Dolton,_South_Dakota,_USA)&oldid=54608.
Thieszen, J. A. and Sam Steiner. (2006). Bethel Mennonite Church (Dolton, South Dakota, USA). Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. Retrieved 9 February 2016, from http://gameo.org/index.php?title=Bethel_Mennonite_Church_(Dolton,_South_Dakota,_USA)&oldid=54608.
Herald Press website.
©1996-2016 by the Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. All rights reserved.